SWSW Perryman/Bolitho Award

Perryman/Bolitho Award for Musical Achievement

This Award was set up in 2012 in memory of former Trustees Maggie Perryman and John Bolitho both of whom contributed substantially to the work of Sound Waves South West. The award is given yearly to a young person demonstrating Musical Achievement.

Applicants must satisfy one or more of the following criteria and must not be a previous winner:

  • Have shown exceptional improvement
  • Have contributed substantially to music in the community
  • Have overcome difficulties

Winners of the 2023 Award For Excellence

1st Prize: Rowan Tidball
Rowan attended Budehaven Secondary School and plays clarinet with Fletchtet Jazz. His telents have been rewarded with a place at the renowned Royal Birmingham Conservatoire.

2nd Prize: Jack Plusnin
Jack is from Okehampton and has been a dedicated cellist since starting lessons aged 6 at the Okehampton Music Centre, where he has been appointed a mentor and now helps and inspires the next generation of students.